riani's picture    

Riani Soares

Position/Title: MSc. (Thesis) Student
email: riani@uoguelph.ca
Office: ANNU 043

Research gate site link
LinkedIn site link

I have bachelor`s degree in Biological Sciences (2018) from Federal University of San Francisco Valley in Brazil. In 2013, I was awarded a scholarship from the Federal Government of Brazil to be an exchange student at the Brock University (St. Catharines, Canada) from September 2013 to December 2014. From 2015 to 2018, I was part of an animal genetics research group where I worked under the supervision of Dr. Gisele Veneroni. I was the lead in three scientific initiation projects, being a research scholarship holder for three consecutive years. One of my projects was the Identification of SNPs related to resistance to Aeromonas hydrophila in Tilapia which had a great impact for local producers. During my undergrad, I have presented more than 10 abstracts related to my projects in conferences and published one paper.

In 2018, I presented my undergrad thesis entitled "Molecular characterization of the berganes ecotype in the semi-arid region of Pernambuco". During the summer of the same year, I moved to Canada to work as a Research Assistant at the University of Guelph. Now, I am a MSc. student in Animal Breeding and Genetics under the supervision of Dr. Jim Squires and Dr. Flavio Schenkel. My project focuses on enhancing resistance to ketosis in Dairy Cattle. Thus, the aim of my study is to identify genomic regions associated with ketosis and to better understand the structural and functional genetic characterization of this disorder in dairy cattle, which will allow the enhancement of resistance to ketosis through genomic selection. The result of this study will be valuable to the industry members in developing better practice and tools for the selection of cattle less susceptible to ketosis and related metabolic diseases. It has been a great learning process to work on this project.

In addition to my master's degree, I like to visit new places in Canada and spend time with my friends.